A Reason, A Season, or A Lifetime

A Reason, A Season, or A Lifetime…these are three categories that I must constantly maintain awareness of to prevent from over extending myself to those in my life I care about. It is important to recognize the importance of gauging the intentions of the people who enter into our lives each day. If you are like me, you spend a lot of time externalizing the need to fix yourself, by trying to fix the ones around you. This leads to a huge deficit in both energy and personal time, that often leads to depression and fatigue. The simple fact is, every person we meet is there for a reason, a season, or a lifetime, which one is not always clear to us; but over time, we begin to see how these relationships will either thrive or just fade away. The main question always remaining to be; is the relationship moving me towards or away from my life goals? I would recommend that you read this poem and think about the relationships in your life, past present, and future. You should see thing with a new perspective, and be able to see where some people just were not meant for a long term purpose in your life. There is a certain peace in being able to see that it was not us that caused the person to leave our lives, it was always meant for them to move on, once they served their purpose, to the circle of your life. On that note I say to all of you who have been a part of my life for a reason, a season or a lifetime; thank you for the lessons, love, and support, on this spiritual journey of self exploration, and my quest to build a better world by building better people. Without your influence, I would not have become the man I am today, as the sum of all those experiences with all of you throughout the years of my life.

20130916-134054.jpg

Leave a Reply

